Dear 2017, I Love You Already

We are only 27 days in to the new year and I have already fallen in love with this year for so many different reasons. One of my favorite artists is releasing a new album and touring (I’m looking at you Ed Sheeran), I started a new job that I am extremely passionate about and I’ve traveled to some of my favorite places! I wanted to write a post about all of the cool things I have done so far this year. This is just the beginning of a year jam-packed with adventures and happiness and I couldn’t possibly be more excited for the year ahead.

The fun actually starts two hours before the official start of 2017. My final hours of 2016 were spent surrounded by my very best friends and adventuring around Disney’s resorts. This is the story of the best New Year’s Eve ever! We kicked off our night at Disney’s Ft. Wilderness Campground where there was a beach party and special character meet and greets.

After snapping some photos and eating Trails End To Go for dinner we hopped on a boat to the Contemporary Resort for a pool side dance party. The party had photo booth props, a hula hoop contest with prizes and other activities. After embarrassing ourselves during the hula hoop contest, we decided to hop on the monorail and make some stops on the way for Dole Whip and some treats at the Grand Floridian. We ended up back at the Contemporary Resort just in time for the special midnight fireworks. We were invited to watch the fireworks from the top of Bay Lake Tower, which offered up an amazing view of the Magic Kingdom fireworks.

Determined to start the year off right, my friends and I decided to pile in to the car for a mini road trip to Siesta Key Beach. Siesta Key is an award-winning beach and has become one of the most famous beaches in America, and now I know why. The white sand, clear water and array of restaurant options serving up fresh seafood make it the ultimate beach destination. We spent the day at the beach and ended it eating dinner on the water at The Old Salty Dog. If you ever find yourself in Siesta Key, I highly recommend making the trip to The Old Salty Dog for the shrimp! Oh, and I almost forgot to mention – the sunset is absolutely breathtaking.

Talk about going from one extreme to the next. Exactly two weeks after lounging on the warm beach I decided to fly home to New Jersey for some winter activities. I landed in Philadelphia just in time for a picture-perfect snow storm in the Pocono Mountains, where I spent the day going 50 mph in a tube down a mountain.

A trip up north isn’t complete without a stop in my favorite city in the world, New York. My best friend Brittani decided to make this trip extra special by surprising me with Aladdin tickets! Before the show we decided to head downtown for lunch at Cafe Habana and even stumbled across some cool street art on the way. If you are looking for street art, Bowery and Nolita are a must do.

Before the show started we ran in to some familiar faces at the stage door. The stars of the show – Aladdin and Genie (Adam Joseph and James Monroe Iglehart)! The show was one of the greatest things I have ever seen in my life and I can’t stop listening to the soundtrack by the original Broadway cast (I think my cubicle neighbor hates me because of it).

Well, it’s been a fun 27 days 2017. I can’t wait to find out what your other 338 days have in store for me.

XOXO (Also.. I started Gossip Girl)

 

Leave a comment